News International review Expert opinion

Swiss anti-corruption expert: My colleagues and I were thought to be clowns

Mark Pieth

Professor of Criminal Law at Basel University Mark Pieth called on Switzerland to seek more tax transparency. To attain the goal Switzerland will have to strengthen tax legislation.

Pieth recalls his speech with the anti-corruption initiative at one of the previous WEF: “[Participants] thought my colleagues and I were clowns”.

The audience did not take seriously his project of launching the Partnering for Anti-Corruption Initiative at that time. However, now it is one of the key programs of the The World Economic Forum.

Despite the fact that his project works, the specialist assures that it seems impossible to fully solve the problem of corruption at the official level in populist countries, for example, in Brazil. He is convinced that people in these countries should not believe the authorities when it comes to fighting financial crime.

“The real tragedy is that many [officials] are the worst of crooks,” said Pieth during the WEF, which is held in Davos January 22-25.

According to the expert, at the moment it is the private sector that can affect the reduction in the number of financial crimes. In particular, he underlined that it’s time to pay attention to India and China, where the problem is acute.

However, not only private companies can stop evading taxes with the help of offshore zones. Mark Pieth said that Switzerland, which is itself a very attractive “tax haven”, is obliged to support transparency of the tax system.

The main step in the fight against tax evasion at the international level for Switzerland, which took the tenth place in the ranking of the best countries for doing business according to Forbes, may be strengthen legal regulation of the status of offshore zones.

In addition, the professor stressed that in the settlement of the problem of tax fraud, progress is now visible thanks to the “exchange of information through the OECD, and Switzerland is participating in this”.

Новости Международное обозрение Мнение эксперта

Эксперт по борьбе с коррупцией в Швейцарии: Меня и моих коллег считали клоунами

Mark Pieth

Стремиться к «налоговой прозрачности» призвал Швейцарию
профессор Базельского университета Марк Пит. Чтобы её достичь, Швейцарии придётся ужесточить налоговое законодательство.

«Участники [форума] думали, что я и мои коллеги –клоуны», –вспоминает Пит своё выступление с антикоррупционной инициативой на одном из прошлых Всемирных экономических форумов.

Тогда программу по созданию партнерства по противодействию коррупции аудитория не восприняла всерьёз. Однако, сейчас это один из ключевых проектов ВЭФ.

Несмотря на то, что его программа работает, специалист заверяет, что полное урегулирование проблемы коррупции на официальном уровне в тех странах, где проводится политика популизма, например, в Бразилии, видится ему недостижимым. Он убежден, что люди в этих государствах не должны верить власти, когда речь идёт о борьбе с финансовой преступностью.

«Настоящая трагедия заключается в том, что многие [должностные лица] – худшие из мошенников», отметил Пит во время ВЭФ, который в этом году проходит в Давосе с 21 по 25 января.

По мнению эксперта, в данный момент именно частный сектор может повлиять на сокращение числа фактов финансовых преступлений. В частности, он предложил обратить внимание на Индию и Китай, где проблема стоит наиболее остро.

Однако не только частные компании могут прекратить уходить от налогов с помощью оффшорных зон. Марк Пит заявил, что Швейцария, которая сама является привлекательным для бизнесменов «налоговым убежищем», обязана поддерживать прозрачность системы налогообложения.

Основным шагом в борьбе с неуплатой налогов на международном уровне для Швейцарии, которая заняла десятое место в рейтинге лучших стран для ведения бизнеса по версии Forbes, может стать ужесточение регулирования статуса оффшорных зон. 

Кроме того, профессор подчеркнул, что в урегулировании проблемы налогового мошенничества виден прогресс благодаря «обмену информацией в Организации экономического сотрудничества и развития и Швейцария участвует в этом процессе».